Namma Metro (Bangalore Metro)

Namma Metro Information

Namma metro is a rapid transit system that serves the population of the city of Bangalore in India. The system began operations on 20th October 2011, and presently has 2 lines which serve 16 active stations. The total track length is 42.3 kilometers. The metro is operated by Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd. (BMRCL). As per March 2014 statistics, the system has a daily ridership of 40, 380 passengers. Expansion plans are underway and 41 stations will be fully functional by March 2015, with the completion of Phase I. As per Phase II development, which is estimated to be over by the end of 2019, 4 lines will be active, serving 102 stations, over a track length of 114.39 kilometers.

Namma Metro Lines

Two lines are providing service for people living in Bangalore, the purple line and the green line.

  • Namma Metro Purple line – The purple line was opened to the public in 2011 and the length of the route is 34.3km. The metro train offer service from Whitefield to Kengeri serving 36 stations. The purple line connects Baiyappanahalli east towards Mysore road west. The route is built partly underground.
  • Namma Metro Green line – The metro line connects Nagasandra in the north towards Putenhalli in the south. The length of the line is 40.1km. The metro route is from BIEC towards Anjanapura. The green line also touches Puthenahalli and Hesaraghatta cross. The line serves 32 stations. Green line was launched on 1st March 2014.
  • Namma Metro Yellow line – The yellow line is under planning stage and the metro will be offering service between RV Road and Bommasandra. The length of the route is 18.8 and Namma metro will be serving 16 stations through this line.
  • Namma Metro Red line – The red line is under planning stage and the metro will be offering service between Gottigere and Nagavara. The length of this route will be 21.2 and the red line will be serving 18 stations.

Namma Metro Map

Map of Bangalore Metro showing various lines and stations is given below. Click on the map to enlarge it.

Namma Metro Hours

The metro services operate from 6:00 am till 10:00 pm. The frequency of the trains from 6:00 am to 8:00 am, and 8:00 pm to 10:00 pm is around 15 minutes. The frequency during remaining hours, from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm is 10 minutes.

For more information on tickets and pricing, visit

Or call Toll-Free helpline at 1800-425-12345

Namma Metro Fares, Tokens and Smart Cards

The metro uses Tokens and Contactless Smart cards, for fare payments. Tokens can be purchased by casual travelers, for a single journey. These are valid at the entry gates, for a period of 30 minutes after the sale time. A passenger can buy a maximum of six tokens at one time. These tokens are captured at the gates, at the time of exit. A fine of Rs200/- is charged, if a token is not returned. The tokens should be purchased only at the entry station.

Frequent travelers can buy Namma Metro Travel Cards, which are contactless smart cards and provide a discount of about 15-21% over tokens. The cards can be purchased for Rs50/-. This cost is separate from the travel value. The riders can load this card with trips or value, as per the convenience.

Travelers have an option of a Combo Card, which combines banking with transit. The card is issues by SBI Bank, and has a magnetic strip and a contactless strip, so that it can be used as a debit card as well. This card also provides discounts up to 15-21% over tokens, and can be loaded for value or trips.

There is an option of a Stored Value Ticket, called Varshik. This ticket provides a discount of 15% on the token fare. The ticket can be loaded in multiples of Rs50/- up to Rs1500/- max. Multiple journeys can be made using this ticket. This is a pay as you go ticket, which means that correct amount is deducted from the balance, for the performed journey. The ticket is valid for duration of one year after the last top up. The contactless smart cards have the stored value ticket as the default ticket.

Group tickets are also available for a group of minimum of 10 people, who are travelling between the same stations. It is a paper ticket that is valid for a single journey and is collected at the exit station.

For reach – 1, the minimum fare is Rs. 10 and the maximum fare is Rs. 15. Reach 3/3A of Namma metro was opened to public on 1st March 2014 and includes stations from Peenya Industry to Mantri Square Sampige Road . The fares of reach 3/3A are below –

Namma Metro Parking

Currently parking facilities are available only at Baiyappanahalli and Swami Vivekananda Road station. Metro riders who wish to use park and ride facilities must pay parking fees in cash or using flash cards. Electric or hybrid cars can be parked for free at metro stations. Parking car for the whole day, metro riders will be required to pay fees Rs50 and for a motorcycle it is Rs 25.

  Namma (Bangalore) Metro Parking Charges
First 4 hours Subsequent hour(s) Whole Day
(5am – 11pm)

20/4 Hours


5 Per Hour


50 / Day


5  / 4 Hours


3 Per Hour

25  / Day

1 / 4 Hours

5  / Day

Namma Metro Rules and Tips

Smoking is prohibited at stations and inside trains. Drinking and eating is not allowed inside trains. Customer care desks are located at each station and are located between entry and exit gates, and are accessible from both paid and unpaid areas. The stations have LED displays that provide real time information about arriving trains. Metro passengers can use laptops, tablets and mobile internet inside the metro stations due to the availability of Wi-Fi service.

Namma Metro Stations

East-West Corridor
(Purple Line) 
1 Baiyappanahalli
2 Swami Vivekananda Road
3 Indiranagar
4 Halasuru
5 Trinity
6 Mahatma Gandhi Road
7 Cubbon Park
8 Vidhana Soudha
9 Sir.M.Visveshwaraya
10 Kempegowda (Interchange Station)
11 City Railway Station
12 Magadi Road
13 Hosahalli
14 Vijayanagar
15 Attiguppe
16 Deepanjali Nagar
17 Mysore Road


North-South Stations
(Green Line)
1 Nagasandra
2 Dasarahalli
3 Jalahalli
4 Peenya Industry
5 Peenya
6 Yeshwanthpur Industry
7 Yeshwanthpur
8 Sandal Soap Factory
9 Mahalakshmi
10 Rajajinagar
11 Kuvempu Road
12 Srirampura
13 Sampige Road
14 Kempegowda (Interchange Station)
15 Chickpete
16 Krishna Rajendra Market
17 National College
18 Lalbagh
19 South End Circle
20 Jayanagar
21 Rashtreeya Vidyalaya Road
22 Banashankari
23 Jaya Prakash Nagar
24 Puttenahalli
Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: