Nagoya Municipal Subway

Nagoya Municipal Subway Information

An important component of the Greater Nagoya transport network, the Nagoya Municipal Subway is at the disposal of the public of Nagoya, Aichi, Japan. With Hatchii as it’s official character, out of the 47 lines of the Greater Nagoya transport network, the subway operates on 6 of those lines, serving a total of 87 stations. Predominantly underground, the network spans over 90 km in length and contributes nearly 40% of the total ridership on the entire Greater Nagoya transportation network. It’s daily ridership is 1,171, 289. The Transportation Bureau City of Nagoya has been responsible for its operation since it began operations, way back in the year 1957.

Nagoya Municipal Subway Map

Map of Nagoya Municipal Subway System showing different lines and stations. Click on the Map to Enlarge it.


Nagoya Municipal Subway Hours

The subway begins operations at around 05:00 am in the morning and runs till nearly 01:30 am, the next day. The timings of the trains differ according to the lines as well.

For detailed information on the train timings, along with a line/stations wise schedule, you can visit the official website at:

Nagoya Municipal Subway Fares, Tickets and Cards

The fare system on Nagoya subway is distance based and is divided into five zones. Single journey tickets can be purchased from the vending machines. Subway network maps are provided at the sales area, where riders can look up the letter / number of their destination station and buy tickets. An adult ticket for Zone 1 costs¥200, while for Zone 2, 3, 4 and 5 cost ¥240, ¥270,¥ 200,¥ 300 respectively. For children, the tickets for Zone 1- Zone 5 cost, ¥100, ¥120, ¥130, ¥150 and ¥160 respectively.

For the disabled people in general (handicapped etc.), the price of tickets is not the same. They benefit from discounted fares, which make travelling really cheap for them. An adult Zone 1 ticket costs just ¥ 100, while for Zone 2, 3, 4 and 5 cost ¥120, ¥130, ¥150 and ¥160, respectively. Children with disabilities, need to pay an even lesser fare.

Passengers have various kinds of options to choose from, with respect to the kind of ticket they need. Catering to a wide pool of passengers, 1 month, 3 month and 6 month tickets are also available.They can choose from individual tickets based on each zone or a ticket which allows one to travel through all the zones. The price for the latter is ¥15,00 for 1 month, ¥42,750 for 3 months and ¥ 81,000 for 6 months. Students and disabled people benefit from discounted fares.

Instead of individual tickets, organizations/schools can make use of group tickets. The price of these tickets range from ¥160 to ¥297 for adults, and ¥80-¥144 for children, depending on the number of zones one travels through.

Children of the age of 12 and above, aren’t given any special rights with respect to the fares and are treated as adults. Whereas, those that fall into the age group of 6-12 and under, are subject to a discounted fare and those under the age of 1, get to travel for free.

For more information on the fares, tickets and cards, you can visit the official website at:

Nagoya Municipal Subway Parking

Park and ride facilities are provided for. However, a fee is charged for the usage of this service. It is applicable to bicycles as well.

For more information on this, you can visit the website at:

Nagoya Municipal Subway Rules and Tips

The tickets need to be validated at the ticket gates installed at stations, at the entry and exits. During exit, regular tickets remain in the gate while day tickets are returned. Fare adjustment machines are also provided near the ticket gates, where the riders can adjust the fare, if they travel beyond the validity of the ticket. The stations are equipped with station area maps, to help passengers. The subway also provides parking facilities for a fee. Transit of small pets is allowed provided they are carried inside carriers.

Nagoya Municipal Subway Lines

Currently the subway system has 6 lines serving 87 stations. All the lines are recognized by its color and name.

● Line 1 – Line 1 is known by the name Higashiyama line and the line is marked H. Line 1 started operation in 1957 and the metro offer service between Takabata and Fujigaoka. The length of the line is 20.6km serving 22 stations. It takes 37 minutes to travel from one end to the other.
● Line 2 & line 4 – The Line is known by the name Meijo and Meiko lines and the lines are marked M and E respectively. Meijo line started operation in the 1965 and Meijo line is a part of line 2. The loop line runs from Kanayama to Nagoya Daigaku serving 29 stations. Meiko line is another part of line 2 which started operation in 1971. Meiko line offer service between Kanayama and Nagoyako serving 7 stations. It takes 48 minutes to complete the loop.
● Line 3 – Line 3 is known by the name Tsurumai line and it started operation in 1977. The line is marked T and the metro offer service between Kami-Otai and Akaike. Line 3 is 20.4km long serving 20 stations.
● Line 6 – Line 6 is known by the name Sakura-Dori line and it started operation in 1989. The line is marked S and the metro offer service between Nakamura Kuyakusho and Tokushige. The line is 19.1km long serving 21 stations. This is the only subway line that uses the ATO system.
● Line 7 – Line 7 is known by the name Kamiiida line and it started operation in 2003. The line is marked with the letter K and the metro offer service between Kamiiida and Heian Dori. The line is 0.8km long serving 2 stations.

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: