Montreal Metro Renames its 20 Metro Stations

Acting on the request of  STM transit authority, Quebec Toponomy Commission officially changed the names of twenty of the Montreal Metro stations. The move is aimed at standardizing the names of the stations with toponymy guidelines of the city. The article “du” has been appended before the names of all stations, the only exception being Square-Victoria which has been renamed to du Square-Victoria-OACI to represent the headquarters of UN Civil Aviation Organization. 

The move is likely to cost over $125,000 for updating the signage and the recordings that run in the trains and stations.

Old Name New Name
Acadie de L’Acadie
Assomption de L’Assomption
Cadillac de Cadillac
Côte-des-Neiges de la Côte-des-Neiges
Champ-de-Mars du Champ-de-Mars
Côte-Sainte-Catherine de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine
Côte-Vertu de la Côte-Vertu
Longueuil-Université-de-Sherbrooke de Longueuil-Université-de-Sherbrooke
Mont-Royal du Mont-Royal
Namur de Namur
Outremont d’Outremont
Parc du Parc
Place-d’Armes de la Place-d’Armes
Place-des-Arts de la Place-des-Arts
Place Saint-Henri de la Place-Saint-Henri
Snowdon de Snowdon
Square-Victoria du Square-Victoria-OACI
Université-de-Montréal de l’Université-de-Montréal
Vendôme de Vendôme
Verdun de Verdun